The daily ramblings …

My learning style?

Posted in Ramblings by akamal on February 19, 2009

It’s been a few weeks since the start of semester 2 for my postgrad course, and like any other course, time has taken a burden on its toll. Assignments now come in heavy volumes, just to be worked on and submitted. Field trips are, like usual, scheduled at very inconvenient times ahead of coursework deadlines. If there’s one thing I am sorely missing, it’s the free times that I get to spend with my family, or maybe more that I get to spend with the TV. Muahaha.

The other day, a communication skill class was conducted on us students, being a first of its kind in this course. One particular activity stood out compared to the rest for that day. It was something to do with getting to know your prefered learning style. Basically, according to these guys handling the course, backed by countless researches that claim on such accuracy, there are 4 disciplines of styles in learning:

ACTIVISTS (one who learns by actually doing the stuff)

REFLECTIVE (takes time by reviewing the experience)

PRAGMATIST (seeking and tryiing out new ideas)

THEORIST (well as the name suggests, one who likes to play with logic, bwah!)

As it turns out, I scored equally high on both ACTIVIST and RELFECTOR part, affirming my concern of being unable to sip on theories all these while. Majority of the class scored on REFLECTOR and THEORIST. Blow me away, I guess that’s why it has been very slow for me to link up what I’ve been studying in geology with my understanding. It proves to be disheartening, but if there’s something that needs to be done, I’ve got to use the just proven styles to cope up with my studies, and it has got to start now.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Michael Tim said, on February 28, 2009 at 6:15 pm

    I love your site! 🙂

    _____________________
    Experiencing a slow PC recently? Fix it now!


Leave a Reply

