The daily ramblings …

Linux HOWTO : Command line based FTP

Posted in Linux / Unix by akamal on January 30, 2007

The general guide below caters for the case of Windows machine accessing a remote linux machine. Initial assumption is that you must have an account accessible to the linux machine.

Go to command prompt, or cmd.exe. Type command below: (You have to know the linux machine’s IP address though, e.g 10.x.x.x)
> ftp
> open 10.xx.xx.xx

If asked for username and password, just enter according to your linux account. Type lcd to check the current local directory in windows, where transferred file will be download to.
> lcd

To change the local current directory, simply type
> lcd c:\you_target_directory\

Now to operate yourself inside the remote linux, use commands below
> ls

To list out the current directory and files, use [options] for advanced controls.
> pwd
Show the current remote linux directory you’re in.

Now to copy files, simply type:
> get file_name
The file will then be transferred to your local current directory.

It is useful to turn off interactive mode, just type below:
> prompt

Finally, to download a bath of files, or all files under that particular directory, just type:
> mget *

ADDED: If you’re required to login, just type
> user
Next just type your username, it will ask for password, then enter your password.

Most people would just use an FTP client to interactively upload / download their files, but it doesn’t hurt to know the basic commands in this context. Recently, I’ve been hit with the command-line virus, making me typing-frenzy, it’s type, type, type!

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Good Credit said, on January 5, 2008 at 8:48 am

    Good Day! Need an advice. My credit is not good. I have applied for credit cards twice and was denied. What is wrong with me? Can I still have a hope to get a credit card to solve some financial problems? I have found one site that presents bad credit cards. There is a note that I can not be rejected. Is this true?

    morgan stanley discover card fixed rate

    R56ma87de

  2. Nolan said, on July 4, 2013 at 7:23 am

    Hey there would you mind letting me know which web host you’re utilizing? I’ve loaded
    your blog in 3 different browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot quicker
    then most. Can you suggest a good web hosting provider
    at a fair price? Cheers, I appreciate it!

  3. http://shoowbiz.ru/ said, on July 5, 2013 at 5:51 am

    Howdy just happened upon your blog from Google after I entered in,
    “Linux HOWTO : Command line based FTP | The daily ramblings …” or something similar (can’t quite remember exactly). Anyways, I’m happy I found it simply because
    your subject material is exactly what I’m searching for (writing a college paper) and I hope you don’t mind if I gather some
    information from here and I will of course credit you as the
    reference. Thank you very much.

  4. Zillow said, on July 26, 2013 at 6:28 pm

    I’m gone to inform my little brother, that he should also pay a visit this website on regular basis to obtain updated from hottest news update.

  5. watch dogs pc said, on July 31, 2013 at 1:02 pm

    Hi there, of course this piece of writing is in fact fastidious and I have learned lot of things from it concerning blogging.
    thanks.


Leave a Reply

